« www.tkk.fi

Suomeksi | På svenska | In English

Skip to main content


Helsinki University of Technology (TKK) will celebrate its 20th solemn doctoral degree ceremony on April 2, 2008. Honorary doctorates will be conferred upon:

President of the RepublicTarja Halonen

Professor Asit K. Biswas (Mexico)

University Chancellor, Professor Anders Flodström (Sweden)

Professor Rolf Jeltsch (Switzerland)

Professor Andres Keevallik (Estonia)

Academician Juha Leiviskä

President & CEO Erkki KM Leppävuori

Director Kai Levander

Professor Lennart Ljung (Sweden)

Professor Fernando H. Lopes da Silva (Netherlands)

Chairman of the Board Ilpo Martikainen Ilpo Martikainen

Group Design Director Eero Miettinen

Professor Douglas D. Osheroff Douglas D. Osheroff (USA)

President Teresa Presas (Belgium)


President of the Republic Tarja Halonen

President of the Republic of Finland, has contributed substantially to the development of Finnish society and to the international relations in Finnish business. She has also been involved in the development of working life and in the search for a fairer globalization, for instance through her work in the ILO World Commission.

Professor, Asit K. Biswas

Professor Asit K. Biswas of the Third World Center for Water Management has distinguished himself in solving global water supply problems and in enhancing water economy research and teaching at TKK. Cooperation with Professor Biswas has afforded water scientists at TKK important international research connections and related funding and publication channels. In 2006, Professor Biswas received the most highly respected international honour in his field, the Stockholm Water Prize.

University Chancellor, Professor Anders Flodström

Professor Anders Flodström is currently University Chancellor and Director General of the National Agency for Higher Education (HSV) in Sweden. As President of the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), he has significantly advanced cooperation between TKK and KTH and promoted the development of university networks (Nordtek, N5T, Baltech and Cluster).

Professor Rolf Jeltsch

Professor Jeltsch of the ETH in Zurich has served as President of many international organizations and has made major contributions to international cooperation in applied mathematics. Professor Jeltsch has collaborated closely with the Department of Mathematics at TKK, and the computational science teaching programme which he initiated served as the model for the networked Computational Science and Engineering programme launched at TKK.

Professor Andres Keevallik

Professor Andres Keevallik, former Rector of Tallinn University of Technology, has made a major contribution to improving cooperation between TKK and Tallinn University of Technology and also cooperation within the Baltech network.

Academician Juha Leiviskä

An architect with an exceptionally impressive portfolio and a member of the Academy of Finland, Juha Leiviskä has designed several well-known churches and also parish halls, libraries, the German Embassy in Helsinki and a cultural centre in Bethlehem. His striking architectural style has attracted attention and won awards in Finland and abroad. He has been an important figure at the Department of Architecture at TKK.

President & CEO Erkki KM Leppävuori

Erkki Leppävuori is President & CEO of VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland. He is an important advocate of Finnish technology policy and technology research, and he has also promoted cooperation within the scientific community Otaniemi, particularly between VTT and TKK.

Senior Vice President Kai Levander

Kai Levander (Senior Vice President, Naval Architecture, Aker Yards) has a long and distinguished career in shipbuilding in Finland, particularly in the design of new cruise ships. Mr Levander is esteemed worldwide for his work in ship product development and his long-term efforts in combining technology with design. For nearly 40 years he has played a major role in the development of cruise ships, and for much of that time he has been in close contact with teaching and research at TKK.

Professor Lennart Ljung

Professor Lennart Ljung of the University of Linköping is generally considered the leading expert on system identification in the world. System identification is a time series based mathematical modelling method which has been applied to a wide range of systems, for example in technological, commercial, medical and biological applications. Professor Ljung has a long-established and close connection with the faculty at TKK, particularly in the areas of research and post-graduate teaching.

Professor Fernando Lopes da Silva

Professor Lopes da Silva of the University of Amsterdam is an internationally renowned scholar in biophysics and neuroscience, and he has also made a major contribution to the orientation and progress of research at TKK. His neurophysiological research is of great relevance to the brain research conducted at the Low Temperature Laboratory at TKK. He is a distinguished teacher, organizer of post-graduate studies and lecturer at international courses and conferences.

Chairman of the Board Ilpo Martikainen

Ilpo Martikainen is Managing Director of Genelec Oy and an advocate of the status, visibility and prestige of the Finnish audio technology business around the world. He founded the company 30 years ago and has led it to become the world’s leading manufacturer of studio monitor speakers. Based in Iisalmi in eastern Finland, Genelec has received several national and international awards over the years for its technical and commercial excellence. The company has also been closely involved in audio technology research at the Laboratory of Acoustics and Audio Signal Processing at TKK.

Group Design Director Eero Miettinen

Eero Miettinen is Group Design Director at Nokia. He has built a distinguished career in industrial design while keeping close contact with the academic world, particularly TKK and the University of Art and Design Helsinki. He has received the highest recognition in his field and numerous awards. He has participated in product development teaching at TKK since 1993.

Professor Douglas D. Osheroff

Douglas D. Osheroff of Stanford University is a Nobel Laureate, Professor of Physics and Applied Physics, a highly distinguished scholar and science policy advocate, and an inspiring teacher. His important and wide ranging cooperation with the Low Temperature Laboratory at TKK has continued for more than 30 years. He has received several prizes and awards, including the 1996 Nobel Prize for Physics together with Professor David Lee and Professor Robert Richardson for their discovery of superfluidity in helium-3.

President Teresa Presas

Teresa Preras, President of the Confederation of European Paper Industries and of the International Council of Forest and Paper Associations, is an important international figure in the field of future issues for the forest industry, which are particularly important to Finland and thus, through strategic choices, to TKK. She has been a member of the governing bodies of several international organizations involved in environmental issues and sustainable development. Her bold, inter-disciplinary career is an inspiration for the young students and scientists at TKK.

The Council of TKK can confer an honorary doctorate with its insignia at the solemn doctoral degree ceremony or at any other time upon a person whose scientific or artistic contribution to the field of science, the arts or other cultural pursuits can be considered to merit such a distinction. TKK organized its first solemn doctoral degree ceremony in 1934, and the ceremony taking place in April 2008 is the 20th such ceremony. To date, TKK has conferred 132 honorary doctorates.

Further information:

Rector Matti Pursula
matti.pursula@tkk.fi, tel. +358 9 451 2000

Professor Riitta Smeds
riitta.smeds@tkk.fi, tel. +358 9 451 3640